Click here to Skip to main content
St Cloud State - Football
St Cloud State - Football mobile

Head Coach Scott Underwood

Scott Underwood will begin his 11th season as the head coach at St. Cloud State in 2018. Underwood is the 12th head football coach in the history of Husky football. Prior to being named the St. Cloud State head coach, Underwood had been the defensive coordinator for the Huskies since 2001.

In 10 seasons at the helm of the Husky football program, Underwood has compiled a 75-41 overall record.  He has placed SCSU among the nation's elite NCAA Division II programs with NCAA tournament apperances in 2010, 2011 and 2013.

The Huskies have earned numerous All-NSIC accolades with Underwood at the helm and several Huskies have gone on to gain All-America status including notables such as Ryan Kees, Fred Williams, Jameson Parsons, Marvin Matthews and Jack Moro.  Record setting SCSU quarterback Phil Klaphake was also selected as a Harlon Hill Trophy semi-finalist in 2013.

In 2017, SCSU posted a winning 6-5 overall record under the leadership of Underwood and were led by All-Region honorees Carvel Graham and Bryce Johnson.  Of note, Johnson went on to sign a free agent contract with the Dallas Cowboys of the NFL.

The Huskies were 5-6 overall with a 4-3 record in the NSIC North Division during 2016, while Jameson Parsons earned All-America and Academic All-America notice for the Huskies. In 2015, SCSU charted a 6-5 record and a 4-3 record in the NSIC North Division.  The Huskies were paced in 2015 by All-America wide receiver Jameson Parsons, who also gained CoSIDA Academic All-America accolades during his junior season.  In 2014, SCSU posted a 6-5-0 record under the direction of Underwood, and he also led the Huskies to a 12-2-0 record in 2013.  SCSU set a new team record in 2013 by winning 12 games as the Huskies advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA championships that season.  SCSU was ranked #5 in the final DII national polls in 2013 and they broke a team record with 24 pass interceptions.

A NSIC title and a second straight playoff appearance culminated the 2011 season for the Huskies.  SCSU posted a 9-3 record and were co-champs of the NSIC and NSIC North in 2011.  The Huskies hosted Wayne State (MI) in first round play of the NCAA tournament that season.

In 2010, Underwood guided the Huskies to their third NCAA Division II football playoff appearance and St. Cloud State advanced to the second round of the playoffs for the second time in school history. St. Cloud State opened the NCAA playoffs at home with a decisive 42-28 win over Hillsdale College. The Huskies hit the road for the second round, traveling to the University of Minnesota Duluth. The Bulldogs needed overtime to defeat the Huskies 20-17 and it should be noted that UMD went on to win the Division II National Championship.

The Huskies posted a 10-3 overall record and were ranked #12 in the final AFCA Division II Coaches Poll and #11 in the final poll. Senior wide receiver Fred Williams was named to five All-American teams, redshirt first-year quarterback Phillip Klaphake was named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Offensive Newcomer of the Year, 17 players were named to the NSIC All-Conference team and 15 players were named to the NSIC All-Academic team.

In the classroom senior Joe Winandy was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Second Team, was a National Football Foundation (NFF) Scholar-Athlete nominee and Campbell Trophy Semifinalist, and was named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society.

In 2008, his first season at the helm, Underwood guided the Huskies to a 7-4 overall record, fourth place in the NSIC with a 7-3 mark and second place in the NSIC North Division with a 5-1 record. The Huskies had a senior class of 25 players and the seven wins marked the most victories for the Huskies since winning eight games in 2005.

The 2009 season was almost identical to 2008. The Huskies were 7-4 overall, tied for third overall in the NSIC with a 7-3 recod, and placed second in the NSIC North with a 5-1 mark. The Huskies played a non-conference game at the University of Maine and nearly defeated the Division I Black Bears, losing 34-27 in overtime in the second game of the season. St. Cloud State started the season 0-3, won seven of their last eight games including a 26-21 season ending win over previously undefeated and nationally ranked Minnesota State University, Mankato.

The Huskies defense, led by Underwood ranked among the best in the North Central Conference in the last seven seasons of the league. In 2002, SCSU led the NCC in rushing defense, giving up 77.1 yards per game. Ten defensive players have earned All-North Central Conference first team honors with Underwood, including Charlie Cosgrove, the 2005 Defensive Lineman of the Year. The Huskies were co-winners of the NCC title in 2002 and hosted a first round NCAA Division II playoff game in 2004, the year that Husky Stadium opened.

Success has followed Underwood at each of his coaching stops. Prior to joining the St. Cloud State staff in 2001, Underwood was the inside linebackers coach at the University of North Dakota for four seasons, and coached two NCAA playoff teams. From 1993 to 1996, he served as the defensive coordinator at the University of Sioux Falls. The University of Sioux Falls advanced to the playoffs during three of those seasons and won the NAIA Division II National Championship in 1996.

Underwood began his coaching career at his alma mater, Augustana College, where he spent five seasons as the defensive secondary coach, following a four-year career at defensive back for the Vikings from 1983 to 1987. In 1988 and 1989 with Underwood as an assistant coach, the Vikings advanced to the NCAA playoffs both season. In 1989 the Vikings lost to St. Cloud State at Selke Field.

A native of Marion, Iowa, Underwood has a bachelor’s degree in social sciences from Augustana College and a master’s degree in health, physical education, and recreation from the University of South Dakota.

Underwood and his wife Tamara, reside in St. Cloud and have two children Casey and Brady.